The Tasmanian Automotive Chamber of Commerce (TACC) has served the automotive industry in Tasmania since 1928.

There had always been a long standing and mutually supportive relationship between TACC and the Victorian Automotive Chamber of Commerce (VACC).

TACC successfully lobbied state government on behalf of members for many years, but times were changing and in 1999 TACC and VACC were amalgamated. This merger offered members a more diverse range of services, while still maintaining a Tasmanian perspective on local issues.

Today we are dedicated to the promotion, representation and preservation of member businesses to local, state and federal governments, as well as the media, consumers and the community.

TACC Rules and By-Laws

TACC Committee

Chair:  Michael Grubb, Specialist Auto Hobart
Vice-Chair:  Terry Bienefelt, Motors Derwent Park

Mark Cooper, Cooper Automotive Mornington
Larry Eaton, Motorworks Motorcycles
Stuart Guy, FT Guy Bodyworks Pty Ltd
Peter Killick, B Select Moonah
Roger White, Specialist Car Centre

TACC news

Mandatory quad bike safety standard

11 October 2021

From 11 October 2021 a new or secondhand imported quad bike sold in Australia must meet the requirements of the Consumer Goods (Quad Bikes) Safety Standard 2019 (Cth) (Quad Bike Safety Standard).

From this date, members who retail a quad bike will need to ensure:

  • All general use model quad bikes have an operator protection device (OPD) that is fitted into the bike or integrated into its design
  • All general use model quad bikes must meet the minimum stability requirements of lateral stability – a minimum tilt table ratio (TTR) of 0.55 2 and front and rear longitudinal pitch stability – a minimum TTR of 0.8.

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) has warned that fines and penalties may apply if retailers fail to comply with a mandatory safety or information standard.

For further information 
ACCC: ‚ÄčMedia release 154/21



Previous Article Industry events set to return
Next Article VACC Association of the Year finalist